Roseanne

Introduction from PA

3 posts in this topic

Hi Everyone!

My name is Roseanne Bolger and I am married to an amazing man named Cody. My husband buys and sells vinyl records for a living, and I am studying to be a birth and bereavement doula. We are moving to PA soon and have an interesting story.

We have been trying to create the miracle of having a family for years and have been unsuccessful. We have had multiple miscarriages and our daughter, Tela Clementine, was born prematurely on March 5th 2017 at 21 weeks. She lived for 30 minutes and we got to experience the indescribable joy of holding our beautiful baby only to have it so quickly taken from us. Along with not being able to successfully carry a baby full-term, I also suffer from Hyperemesis Gravidarum; a condition in pregnancy that can best be described as severe nausea, vomiting, weight loss, and electrolyte disturbance. I had to spend long stretches of time at Methodist Willowbrook hospital with IVs basically keeping me alive.

Through losing Tela, we have discovered infertility and baby loss is extremely common. Though people are ashamed to talk about it, once you share your story, they quickly open up about their own. The mailman, the ladies at the nail salon, the guy helping you at Lowes (all true) are all quick to share their stories. If they weren’t personally affected by infertility or miscarriage, someone close to them has been.

Because of modern medicine, we have one option left of having a biological child of our own. We will be using a gestational surrogate.

We have looked at a few agencies and were wondering if it would be better to find a surrogate on our own. Does anyone have experience with finding a GC on their own? We are looking for someone in the PA area where we could be a part of the whole process.  

Thank you so much for taking the time to read this, I very much look forward to hearing from you! 

Love and Light,
Roseanne