Sign in to follow this  
PhysChic

Anyone have problems at work?

PhysChic    3

Hi all!  It's been quite a while since I've been on these boards.  I was a successful surrogate back in the 2014/2015 range, at which point I was a grad student and had a reasonably supportive advisor (who got a little annoyed with me being less productive toward the end of pregnancy, but that's beside the point).  Now, I'm at a full-time job and doing fairly well, but I'm a little worried about another surrogacy potentially affecting my career long-term--if someone who has control over my advancement has something against surrogacy or something like that.  Has anyone on here had any experience one way or another with this sort of thing?  I'm super excited about doing another surrogacy, but I also don't want to cripple my career in the process...

Advertisers are how we pay the bills to keep the forums going.
Say thanks by clicking a banner from time to time!
NJLyn    4

I would go with your gut instinct on this one. As long as you are positive that surrogacy is right for you, you have a good family support system, I would say go for it. Of course, I understand you don't want to jeopardize your future career options. Especially if you just started a new job, that could be tricky.

I know we like to think our superiors cannot use our personal beliefs/choices against us in the workplace, but they do. A lot of it depends on your work ethic and attitude during the surrogacy, I think. At least for me. I was worried how my coworkers and manager would take it. I have remained reliable, hard working and tried to reassure them I am still dedicated to my job. I'm sure there are married women, pregnant with their own child naturally, who face some kind of discrimination in the workplace too. Even if it's unspoken. Just being kind, honest and a good employee speaks volumes for your character.