Surrogacy Forum: Surrogate Mothers, Intended Parents and Egg Donors: TriCare insurance question - The Contract Phase and Insurance Issues - Surrogacy Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

TriCare insurance question

#1 User is offline   AmazinGrace 

• Pip
  • Group: Member

Posted 11 January 2012 - 03:44 PM

I am new to all this and have a few questions.
Quick background, I am the IP, after 9 IUIs (one chem pg and the rest BFN) and 6 IVFs all ending in m/c, DH and I have decided to try IVF one more time and if I am unable to carry to term then start with surrogacy late summer/early fall.
One of my best friends, almost like my sister, offered to be my surrogate and so I am trying to inquire about coverage before moving further.
We are both military wives and both covered under Tricare. I know Tricare has changed their coverage around for surrogacy but I am not sure what is covered and what is not, especially since we both are covered with the Tricare.
Can anyone be of some assistance with me, or give me a little insight?

#2 User is offline   ready4this 

• PipPip
  • View blog

Posted 11 January 2012 - 04:03 PM

:welcomeani:/>

I'm sorry I don't have any type of answer to your question :/ I dont know anything about insurance, but I look forward to hearing how things go :)/>

#3 User is offline   juju 

• One baby - Journey # 2!
  • PipPipPip

Posted 11 January 2012 - 05:09 PM

She will have to look at her benefits and just make sure there is not a surrogacy exclusion. Just make sure she reads carefully because sometimes they do mention an exclusion for IP's - just saying that the IP's insurance will not cover a surrogate.

#4 User is offline   Amaraine 

• PipPip

Posted 11 January 2012 - 05:10 PM

Welcome! I'm so very sorry for your losses, but am so glad that surrogacy is the right path for you. :)/>